Wicca is an eclectic religious belief system centering around gods, goddesses, and nature worship.  Gary Cantrell, a well-known Wiccan author says Wicca is based on "harmony with nature and all aspects of the god and goddess divinity." Wiccan practice involves the manipulation of nature through various rituals in attempts to gain power, prestige, love, or whatever else a Wiccan wants.  It uses symbols in its ceremonies and follows the calendar in reference to Wiccan festivals.  Its roots are in ancient agrarian Celtic Society.  It is considered Neo-Pagan (based on old European and pre-Christian belief systems). Wicca does not have a structure of clergy and/or congregations.  But it does have priests and priestesses which are in leadership positions within covens that have witches.  The varying traditions of Wicca have different requirements for attaining the level of priest and priestess.  Some of the more common varieties of Wicca are 1734, Alexandrian, Celtic, Dianic, Dicordian, Eclectic, Gardnerian, and Georgian.  Wicca is even recognized as a religion in the military.

The following list of affirmations and denials are held by most Wiccans.  But because there are differences among Wiccan traditions, not every we can will affirm or deny every statement listed here.  Nevertheless, the list is accepted by almost all Wiccans:

  1. Affirms
    1. The existence of a supreme divine power known as "The One," or "The All."
    2. "The All" is not separate from the universe, but part of it.
    3. That from "The All" came the god and goddess.
    4. That the god and goddess are manifested in various forms in the universe.
    5. Nature worship and, therefore, environmental concerns are high.
    6. Divinity is within.
    7. Biological evolution.
    8. That there are different and valid paths to finding the truth about God.
    9. That all creatures have a life force, a soul.
    10. The male and female principles are in balance throughout the universe.
    11. The equality of the sexes.
    12. That each person has male and female aspects that need to be balanced.
    13. Multiple reincarnations.
    14. The teaching of karma.
    15. The practice of rituals designed to attune Wiccans to the natural life forces.
    16. That upon death a person is released back to a place called Summerland.
    17. That different paths to spirituality are acceptable as long as they don't hurt anyone.
    18. Personal responsibility for ones actions.
  2. Denies
    1. The concept of Heaven and Hell (Matt. 25:46).
    2. The existence of the Devil and the worship of the devil, Lucifer, etc. (Matt. 4:1ff).
    3. The existence of absolute evil (Psalm 34:14; 35:10).
    4. The inspiration and authority of the Bible (2 Tim. 3:16).
    5. A need for salvation (Rom. 3:23).
    6. Moral absolutes (Exodus 20).
    7. That Jesus is the only way to salvation (John 14:6).
    8. The male headship presented by Christianity (Eph. 4:11; Eph. 5).
    9. A religious authoritative hierarchy (Eph. 4:11; Eph. 5).
    10. The concept that humanity is to subdue the earth (Gen. 1:28).

(Source: CARM)

  • Wicca Web Page by Matt Slick, CARM
  • Wicca Web Page by GotQuestions.org